GG: BDP's Founder

BDP founder, born in 1908, Professor Sir George Grenfell Baines (known affectionately as GG) set up in practice as an architect in Preston (UK) in 1937.

Four years later he teamed up with two other Preston practices and the Grenfell-Baines Group was born. Expansion in various locations in the UK continued throughout the 1940s and 1950s. In 1951 Grenfell Baines was the only northern architect appointed to design a building for the Festival of Britain in London.

In 1961 Building Design Partnership, as it was then, was launched as an interdisciplinary practice. On the occasion of his retirement in 1974, the advice of Professor Sir George Grenfell Baines was to “keep going, getting better”.
Since then the practice has grown to its current position of 13 locations throughout the UK, Ireland, the Netherlands, the MENA region, China and India.

BDP has evolved from an original concept largely inspired by one man’s vision and shared by a closely-knit group of colleagues who were committed to the same idea.

BDP’s policy today remains firmly based on a strongly held and convincing philosophy established in teamwork. It was the same interdisciplinary approach that was at the root of the original partnership that grew out of George Grenfell Baines’ broad-minded conviction.

GGB Award trophyThe Grenfell Baines Award (GGB/BDP Award)
This award is given in honour of BDP's founder, Professor Sir George Grenfell Baines OBE. It is presented annually to the client and winning BDP team which has completed a project of outstanding design quality deemed to create an uplifting inspiring place for people and one that reflects the benefits of integrated working. The project must have won acclaim from the client and user, and will also have considerably advanced BDP's progress.
The trophy, a stainless steel wire sphere, symbolising integration, was designed by artist Dail Behennah.

2013 Enterprise South Liverpool Academy, Liverpool, UK
2012 Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham, UK
2011 B&Q Store Support Office, Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK
2010 University of York, Heslington East Campus, York, UK
2009 Cardiff Library, UK
2008 Victoria Square, Belfast, UK
2007 Aintree Racecourse, Liverpool, UK
2006 Marlowe Academy, Ramsgate, UK
2005 BBC Mailbox, Birmingham, UK
Armada Housing, Den Bosch, Netherlands
Royal Albert Hall, UK – Winner of Special Award
2003 Manchester Piccadilly Station Redevelopment, UK
Hampden Gurney Church of England Primary School, London, UK
Cathedral Gardens, Manchester, UK - Winner of Special Award
2001 Glasgow Science Centre, Pacific Quay, UK
2000 Millennium Building, All England Lawn Tennis Club, Wimbledon, UK
1999 Scottish Widows Headquarters, Edinburgh, UK
1998 Adam Opel Haus, Rüsselsheim, Germany
1997 White Rose shopping centre, Leeds, UK
1996 Matthew Gloag & Son Headquarters, Perth, UK
1995 St Peter’s Campus Phase I, University of Sunderland, UK
1994 Channel Tunnel UK Terminal, Folkestone, UK
1993 The Bentall Centre, Kingston upon Thames, UK
1992 Cannon Bridge air rights development, London, UK
1991 BDP offices, 38 Carver Street, Sheffield, UK